top of page

Everyday Life: Kantian Ethic VS. (My)Reality

*THIS IS JUST A PERSONAL OPINION*

Back again with me. This will be another week that I will compare the story, which was not written by anyone but by me, my experience, "My Story." Oh, another thing is I'm having the exam this week. Anyone who is reading this message, this is the SOS message. Somebody help me. Send me some hope to pass this exam. Okay, now back to the story. I'm currently reading about "Kantian Ethic." Philosophy supposes to be the guideline leads us on how to live our life and then I realize something from it.

Start with Mr. Kant, the man who gives most of my classmate a headache even that he is not around anymore, what a powerful man. According to him, "We have to act on the maxim, which can only be universalise without contradiction." Okay, I know some of you might ask yourself "WHAT THE FISH IS THAT SUPPOSES TO MEAN?" Let me explain. Well, to make in simple, his theory tells that you can only thing that if the whole world do it, just like you do, and nothing would go wrong or cause problem. Sounds great isn't it? But, how can we know what action wouldn't cause us a problem? Don't worry. Mr. Kant also has answer for this, ACT ON GOOD INTENTION. Good intention has to base on moral too. Don't forget that. So far so good. Everything seems to makes sense.

Now, have at look at my story. Do our action in everyday life really based on moral? Do we actually think that much before we do something? And most importantly, does our action only have to be done because it must be don't because according to Mr. Kant it is what we have to do? This might sounds like I'm going against his theory. I don't have any problem with his theory that will make peace to our world someday, maybe? But, personally, as he had mentioned by himself, humans are rational being. From what I see in my life, we are all have "Our-name and add -ian Ethic." Each of us has our own way of living and that's why we have contradiction in this world. This world is cruel and full of unfairness, and there's nothing we can do about it. I think anyone who are reading this understand the definition of "Cruel World" without any explanation from me. Those who do something that you think it is bad and unfair also has their own reason of doing it. And in the opposite way, what you think you doing right might be wrong for someone too. Even serial killer has his own reason of killing too. Think of it this way, one incident is happening in the center of the room. Two people standing in two different corner of the room, watching that incident from the "Different Angle." In the end, same incident but you'll get 2 different stories from those people. We can't change the world but we can change "Our World."

For the person that had experienced something bad mentally like me, I would say that my world is like wonderland. This is why I have obsession over Alice In Wonderland. The land full of curiosity and nothing makes any sense. Trust me it is not fun. It is riding a roller coaster. Just like what I had mentioned in my vlog about “Bam! Alice goes there and bam! Alice goes here and bam! Alice is now in another place.” But you know what? “Even hell can be comfortable once you are settle on.”(It’s a song lyrics, haha) once you find the way to make your own world comfortable, there’s nothing to worry about “The World.” Find what makes you happy without having to count on anyone. Find your true happiness. And that’s it. Anyway, never neglect those who need your help. Don’t be the kind of person that say “I’m not happy, so you are not allow to be.” Even that your world is already shattered, it does not mean that other people have to experience the same thing as yours. Give your best to help everyone who needs it. I would call this “Pakamonian Ethic.”(HAHA) Again, this is just a personal opinion.


bottom of page