top of page

The Answer That Change My Mind


I dreamt about working at the organisation that allows me to help the world to be a better place, such as World Wildlife Fund or United Nation (UN). I finally get to visit one of the organisations that I dreamt of. Even though I barely know anything about it, I still want to work there. I only know that I want to save the environment. I have a passion to save the ocean. April 30 is the day that I had a chance that I get to know more about UN. Surprisingly, What I have learned makes me want to work at UN even more.

Time never wait. I was late. My van got stuck in the traffic. I wanted to rush from the van to the meeting room, but I could not. Why? UN is bigger than I expected. Once my foot stepped on the ground. I saw the white contemporary building with green rooftop. The fountain in front of the gate bringing movement and gives gaiety to the dull white building. I did not know which direction to go. Rushing into a random will only lead to the middle of nowhere. So, I asked security to give me the direction. He was tall and chubby with a stressed face. I was afraid of him.“Where are all the Thammasat students?” I asked my question and realized how weird my question was. “They are upstairs, the second floor. I am not sure either,” he answered kindly. I and my friend ran up the escalators to the second floor. Once we reached the room, we realized that the meeting has already begun.

I miss half of the lecture from Kavita Sukanadan. I step into the room and saw a huge meeting room filled with seats and big silver UN logo decorated on the beige wall. I was impressed. The room looks like where the professionals would meet and discuss important matter, and girl like me had a chance to sit in there. There are microphones on each table for all participants, which mean if I speak into the microphone, my voice will be on the main big speaker and everyone will hear it clearly. I sat down and take out my notebook. I tried my best to take note but it was hard to catch up on what she was saying. She introduced the students to UN’s goal, Millennium Development Goals, MDGs, which end by 2015. They created these statement in infographic form with various colours. It was eyes catching. Since these goals are already done by 2015. She introduced the new goals called “The Global Goals For Sustainable development” through YouTube video. “This is properly not my style,”I think to myself knowing that I want to save the environment not developing human life’s quality. There are seventeen new goals. 1.) No poverty 2.) Zero Hunger 3.) Good health and well-being 4.) Quality education 5.) Gender equality 6.) Clean water and sanitation 7.) Affordable and clean energy 8.) Decent work and economic growth 9.) Industry, innovation, and infrastructure 10.) Reduced inequalities 11.) Sustainable cities and communities 12.) Responsible consumption and Productivity. At this point, I thought “Okay, I properly do not want to work at UN.” The next goal showed up 13.) Climate action 14.) Life below water. This is what I wanted to hear, saving the ocean. The video continues 15.) Life on land 16.) Peace and justice strong institutions and lastly 17.) Partnership for the goals. After all, maybe I want to work at UN.

Dr. Riccardo Mesiano stepped up to explain more about what is “Sustainable Development Goals.”“Everything we do, everything we study all the differences and occupations, they all get some kind of link,” he explained that if we want to develop the country, we can not just develop only one particular part. Every goal has to develop together. Not just only human’s life quality but also the environment.“We not only want the country to be rich. We want the country to be richer, but also the environment preserved.” Some countries that developed fast didn’t develop in suitable way which polluted the environment. And, these goals were created to fix it.“What do you think is the important keys to develop Thailand?” he asked the students. Some said peace and justice some said quality education. But, non said life below water. I think it is important. So I asked him “Do you think life below the water is another important key to develop Thailand?”, I asked him. “Absolutely!” he answered with no hesitation. He explained that life of fishermen in Thailand depends on the quality of life below the water. Right now the fish stock is disappearing. We need to take action to stop this problem. We must work on the life below water goal. If we fail this goal it means life quality of the fishermen will decrease and that will damage the goal 1, no poverty. Once they cannot catch a fish they will move to Bangkok. Then, Bangkok will be overpopulated and it damages goal 11, sustainable cities. With overpopulation, how can we make sure that we have the clean water and sanitation? which is goal 6. I was mind blown.

We get to learn more about Human trafficking with Miss Ubonwan Boonrattanasamai. She is a sweet girl who has a beautiful mind. A girl who want to save the others. There are so many things to tell, so many experiences within one day. But, most important part is answer that Dr. Mesiano gave me changed my mind. I used to only care about one thing and that is to save the ocean. I don't care how the children are starving in Africa or anything else, but Dr. Mesiano showed me that I can’t just concern about one certain thing. All matters are connected. Now, I want to be a part of UN to help develop the world to be the better place.


bottom of page