top of page

The Precious Experiences

I usually late for my class, but not today. Not on January 8. I went to class early in the morning. The first thing that Mr. Bruce told me is I was not supposed to wear sandals to the class. I was so nervous that my point might be deducted since I broke the rule. I heard the rumor that he is an extremely strict person. But he did not. It was just a warning. Once I see the rules sheet, nothing surprises me. Everything on the sheet makes sense. Except for one rule, no perfume. Mr. Bruce gave us a chance to asked question about the rules. I hesitated a little whether I should ask him my question about perfume or not. He might be a dictator type of teacher who hates people who question authority. But, I asked him a question anyway. I said, “Not allowing to wear perfume is the class is new to me, why perfume is not allowed?” He explains to me that some office people are allergic to perfume and the whole building was forbidden from perfume. There is also a case that one person is allergic to WIFI. And, the whole building was forbidden from WIFI. He did not just create the rule out of the blue. He has his reason. He is not the type of person who acts with no reason. Maybe this class might not so bad after all. On the first class, Mr.Bruce randomly selected the students into each group. I shook a little once I saw my group members name on the list. It turned out that my first group project was fabulous. We work on the topic called “The Act for Solution and Prevention for Adolescent Pregnancy Problem B.E. 2559 (2016).” The most interesting that I found out while I was working on this project is even though this act already commands change in Thai sex education in school, the school do not even know that this act exist. Teen pregnancy problem is a big trouble in our country. There is an act for fixing this problem, but no one takes action as if this act never exist. One of my teammates said that she contacted a law professor, but he denied being interview since he never heard of this act before. In this project, it was the first time that I have a chance to interview people, interviewing organization, via phone call. I remembered I was so nervous. It took a lot of courage to make that call. It was an exciting experience. Due to our team afford, our editorial turn out great.

I already mentioned that I never want to do the wrongdoing report. But, I can not escape from it. The day that I need to do the wrongdoing report arrived. The first case that I have reported is smoking outside the smoking area. I walk past the engineering faculty every day. I saw a men chilling in front of the faculty smoking. I needed a video to used as my evidence. My heart beat faster trying to capture a video of them knowing that if they caught me, I properly be dead. I got the video and still alive. I reported them on http://complain.thaiantialcohol.com/ on that same day along with the picture of them, but I censored their face. Not so long, there are a bunch of “Do not smoke” signs set up in that area. It might due to the fact that I reported it. At least I created some change in my university.

Another big assignment that I got to do is FOI assignment. I asked for three information: 1.) The number of trash created in each year 2.) The number of pregnant university students in each year and 3.) The number of organisation that helps dogs including the organisation name. Few weeks past, a person from Office of the Official Information Commission (OIC) called me. “Is it an assignment?" he asked me with curiosity. He also mentioned that there are up to 40 mails at his office. He informed me that if the students want the information, they need to contact directly with the organization first. If the students do not get any reply then contact OIC. Mr. Bruce and students discuss about FOI in class. Some of the students got a reply. I have not received any news from OIC since then. Mr.Bruce gave students a warm welcome after the first half of the semester with observation assignment. That was the first time that I worked with my second group. We observed three people at JC canteen. It took us fifteen minutes just sitting still and stared at those people. After that warm welcome, it was a harsh time that caused me a mental breakdown multiple times. As a person has a serious Bipolar disorder, it was extremely hard for me to get through. With help from Marquise Pedsuwan, I was able to made it. “At first the group assignment may seem hard, but when we do it together our assignments looks easier. We also get to know one another more." Marquise shared her opinion.

I enjoyed this class lot. It became one of my favourite class. My professor, Mr.Bruce, did not only taught how to write a good editorial and article, but he taught the students necessary skills such as note-taking and to be a professional. If it was not because of this JM310 class, I would not have a chance to interview big organisation like Home for Handicapped Animals Foundation. I would not have a chance to visit UN. Visiting UN became one of the favorite memories. Mr.Bruce is not the mean professor like how other people from the previous semester describe him. Everything he did has a reason. His assignments were meant to create a qualified people and good citizens. He is friendly and kind. Thank you Mr.Bruce for giving these valuable moments.


bottom of page